Touristen (verb, “to tourist”)

3

October 2, 2012 by anelim

In case anyone wondered, I haven’t wandered off and abandoned the blogosphere. It just that, while I was away from the country for a few days, I found very little reason to blog about Berlin. But now I am back, and today I even had an excuse to do touristy stuff because a friend visited the city. To be more precise, we didn’t so much do touristy stuff as chatter away. After all, I hadn’t seen her since 2004 when she was 17 and now she is finishing a PhD, so we were catching up on the heaps of life that happened in the meanwhile. But we did do some. For example, Yadegar Asisi’s 360′ panorama of the Berlin wall in the PErgamonmuseum’s forecourt is quite awesome. The image is hauntingly realistic, looks like a mix of photography, painting and computer-generated animation, spread on a huge canvas and lit up to create amazing contrast. Asisi has also done panoramas of ancient Rome and some other stuff as well which I haven’t seen, but I think that restoring the Berlin wall through a panoramic image is just genius. It is something that happened within my lifetime yet I have never seen and having seen this makes it so much more real. I took a photo, but a very polite guy asked me not to take any more, I shan’t post it. But I really hope they keep it as a permanent exhibition and if you visit me, I shall probably drag you there unless you scream loudly in Hochdeutsch. There is also a wonderful waffle and coffee place nearby.

Photos with some more touristy stuff info:

Two tourists in Berlin (2 October 2012)
3 thoughts on “Touristen (verb, “to tourist”)

  1. Morteza says:

    Did you know that Yadegar is Persian/German? Yea, we are all amazing! 😐

    Like

  2. […] Touristen (verb, “to tourist”) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

I will be no longer Berliner in..

July 31st, 2013
October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
