The importance of looking stuff up on Wikipedia

Leave a comment

October 14, 2012 by anelim

Thanks to Wikipedia, I am no longer slightly unnerved by making tea with my Krupp kettle (desktop link)(mobile link) due to wrongly confusing it with the infamous German weapon manufacturer Krups (desktop link)(mobile link).

20121014-104824.jpg Not that it would make any difference, but I’m feeling rather irrationally glad that is not the same company whose tanks contributed to the disasters of the Franko-Prussian war, the Great War, and it’s sequel. Come to think of it, after WWII Krupp was involved in restoring the infrastructure and in expanding the rail network: both are amazing work. They also ran a rather impressive early company welfare scheme from the mid-19th century onwards. In the same vein I should stop drinking builder’s tea or eating baklava because of what the British and Ottoman empires did. OK, I get it. But I can’t help being pleased by the fact that my tea comes from a kettle made by a seemingly innocuous firm. What a Sunday morning battle of mind against logic! I think I should leave Krups in peace, stop rambling at least in print, get out of bed, and make myself useful by making some pancakes.

Oh, wait, Teflon (Polytetrafluoroethylene) is also used in the military industry to make armour piercing bullets

Leave a Reply

I will be no longer Berliner in..

July 31st, 2013
October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
