I wish I had been born in the 960s

Leave a comment

April 20, 2013 by anelim

The Onion reduced me to tears once again: when I read this account of how awesome life was back in the… 960s. Perfect coffee-time reading on a sunny Saturday morning in Berlin! Totally agree about the music and the frocks, too. Hahaha!

Ever feel like you’re living in the wrong era? Don’t get me wrong, there’s plenty of stuff I love about today, but I’ve never been able to shake the feeling that I was born too late. When I look back at the past, I get the sense that I truly belonged in those heady days of peace and love, back between the fall of the Roman Empire and the dawn of the High Middle Ages. That’s why, if I could live in any time period, I would definitely choose the 960s.

Something about those wild, revolutionary years really speaks to me. It seemed like everything was going on back then. The frocks looked good, the chants were amazing, and everyone who wasn’t suffering typhoid or acute vitamin deficiencies was just so alive with energy. The 960s just seemed like an electrifying time to be living.

I definitely wouldn’t have wanted to be drafted into that controversial and interminable Byzantine-Bulgarian War, though. That thing was a completely mismanaged quagmire.

Leave a Reply

I will be no longer Berliner in..

July 31st, 2013
April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
